A Match Made in Louisiana

In 2003, I had a relaxing summer vacation. Or at least that’s what I called it, before I remembered that I was a newly-minted college graduate, and that regular people would just call it “unemployment.” But I needed a break, anyhow. It was a good summer, filled with junkyard hunts, drifting, eating Subbies, and hanging out in the Westwood arcade playing Daytona USA.

In any case, I ended up moving back home when my lease was up, and continuing my “vacation.” Then, one day, I got a call from my sister-in-law’s mom, asking for some help running one of her franchise sushi bar locations in Louisiana. As odd as that sounds, I found myself living in Hammond, LA for the next month, slinging cheapo sushi to college students from 7am to 6pm.

If that wasn’t odd enough, this particular location was inside a college student union, along with several other vendors behind the same set of counters. And when it was time to eat, well, I could choose whatever I wanted. One day, I decided to combine two of my loves: Cajun Fried Catfish, and Onigiri (Japanese rice balls). I grabbed a bunch of deep-fried cajun-seasoned catfish from “Home Zone,” the down-home Southern Cookin’ vendor. Then I packed the catfish into some abnormally large balls of short-grain Japanese rice, fresh out of our cooker.

The results? Friggin’ awesome. Like I said back in my 2003 entry on the topic, if the Japanese can use katsu (fried cutlet) in an onigiri, I can definitely make ‘em with southern-fried-anything.

And of course, I had to give them a name: Nekonigiri. (ネコにぎり)

You see, “neko” means “cat” in Japanese. And I love making terrible puns almost as much as I love onigiri! (Nobu says I make oyaji puns, like an old man). Of course, I usually get serious skepticism from anybody that I tell this story to. Especially people for whom the connotation of eating a “Cat” is too much to consider!

But in any case, seven years later, I believe I’ve found a restaurant that would be on the same page with me… Yo-Yo Sushi in Santa Clara…

A Match made in Louisiana

Hell, I bet they’ve probably already made my other piece of Japanese/Southern fusion: The crawfish roll!

Sadly, I was on my way to see Avatar when I saw this sign, so I’ve got no review yet. But I will return to see if Yo-Yo Sushi will recreate the nekonigiri. Otherwise, if my patented off-the-menu coercion techniques (more on that later) don’t work, I’m making ‘em at home, and y’all can come over and get some!

This entry was posted in Livejournal Archive and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Match Made in Louisiana

  1. swoo says:

    I’ve only eaten there a couple of times, seemed overpriced and not that good. YMMV.

    • Slonie says:

      Looks like you’re right — As much as I hate to trust Yelp, it bears out your impressions. Most of the reviews are 1-2 stars, and the only positive reviews are from unsophisticated consumers gushing about the superCrunchyMegaRolls. Blech.

Leave a Reply

