It’s starting to feel a lot like January

View from the Saratoga Alps (on NYE)

Well it’s been cold, intermittently rainy, and I’ve got what I now recognize as the taste of copper in my mouth that accompanies the first ride of the year. Seriously, I remember talking about it last year as I took the ride depicted in my About Me photo. At least that time, it was after three weeks off the bike and across the world. This time? I’ve got less of an excuse.

I’m throwin’ in the cut, because this post isn’t looking to be all that exciting…

In any case, riding. The weather has been crap, and with the “important” cyclocross racing done for the season, I may have lost a little bit (or a lot) of form. Or maybe just focus.. Last week I went on a delightful San Gregorio loop with Alia that included a 30-minute ascent of OLH (“slow” for me, but I sure as hell didn’t feel like going any faster!), as well as a two-hour mini-EKG ride with The Superfred (shamelessly wheelsucking the entire time) to close out the year. And while they were nice and solid rides, they sure didn’t feel easy. And with the Grasshoppers just around the corner, as well as a few more CX races to (optionally) attend, I’m not sure how I’m feeling.

The elusive Superfred, spotted!
The view in front for the entire ride

Additionally, the possibility of a road racing season has put me on a collision course (hopefully not literally) with the Early Bird Criteriums. They’re the only way before the season starts to get those points I need to avoid being a sad sucky scrub of a 5 (and become a sad sucky scrub of a 4!). But, as with last year, three out of four of them fall on the same days or weekends of other events that I want to do. (Norcal Vs. Socal CX, the Surf City Final, and the Old Caz Grasshopper). Last year I faced the same decision, did the events I wanted to do, and didn’t dip my toes into roadie-waters till summer. Will this year be any different? Will I actually do some mountain bike racing this year? I guess you and I will just have to wait and see…

This entry was posted in Bikes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s starting to feel a lot like January

  1. Jason says:

    He had his foot down the entire time?!?

    • Slonie says:

      That’s how slow I feel right now!

      Seriously though, if I start bringing my real camera, the chances of photos while actually riding will go up. By 100%. My photo coverage on rides has been terrible lately!

  2. Alia says:

    You cannot POSSIBLY be considering Early Birds over cross races; I can’t allow it. Sure, you could collect some points, but you could also get crashed out by some asshat with a two-day-old bike and blow your shoulder and your road season into pieces — not that I’m still bitter or anything, of course.

    • Slonie says:

      Okay, this is totally true, all of it.

      Also, you may feel “I AM DISAPPOINT” that I didn’t write about how great that San Gregorio ride was (Beautiful), how it went on a road I’ve never ridden before (West OLH), how many delicious ginger molasses cookies I ate (TWO), what beer I drank (Lagunitas IPA chased with a coffee), and how many dogs riding motorcycle sidecars whilst wearing goggles I saw (ONE). Instead, I mentioned it passing, linked to the squiggly line*, and moved on to whine about how I feel slow.

      Stop the blog, I want to get off!

      But I still don’t know what I’m doing this weekend.

      *Squiggly Line: n. What I vowed to never post on this blog ever. Linking to Strava doesn’t count, because there’s a map to go along with the line, but it’s only half a step away!

  3. SuperFred says:

    I was thinking of trying to do an Early Bird or two since I refuse to get my *clown* shoes muddy (that and the fact I don’t race CX… yet), but Alia scared me out of it.

    I look like a chimpanzee dressed in Pearl Kit for some stupid print-ad campaign, and I thought I looked like this: http://velonews.competitor.com/files/archive/images/huffy.jpg Dammit!

  4. Alia says:

    Pshhh, please — it was enough that you did the ride at all. That’s a long way to go at ladies’ tea-party pace. Though, seriously, where is the photo of the dog?

Leave a Reply

