SSCXWC 2011 Anticipation!

The 2011 Edition of the Singlespeed Cyclocross World Championships has been announced! San Francisco, November 18-20, 2011. Have a look at the Facebook page for it right here! What does that have to do with me? Well, take a look at the mascot… Looks like something I’d draw, right?

I’m like a proud papa. The scoop on the event is all on the newly launched website at…

http://www.sscxwc2011.com

sscxwc2011 ad

So go check it out, and come on out and join the party. It’s a full three days of radness from November 18th-20th, 2011!

Of course, my history with SSCXWC dates back to 2008, where I signed on to an epic road trip in search of adventure. I wasn’t racing, but I went to the qualifier, the parties, and supported Jason in his quixotic campaign of racing singlespeed cyclocross on a Surly Big Dummy

PDX: Up n' Over Jason!

Possibly the luckiest shot I ever got of a bike race… Of course, riding in the Pacific Northwest takes its toll on us Bay Area types… I’ve included the comments section from that photo, because really, they nailed it.

In any case, I knew I had to come back and race it next year, and the 2009 SSCXWC was indeed madness… Racing in Portland is something else, that’s for sure.

Portrait from SSCXWC

I don’t remember much, and neither did my camera, having been thoroughly busticated from water damage incurred on the “Social Ride” the day before. That ride was also one of my most miserable days on the bike, ever. And yet I still speak fondly of it!

Downhill Battle

My camera took photos like this after the social ride. That just about sums up the water damage that both of us incurred.

We tried and failed to win the hosting rights for 2010, which went to those sneaky Seattle types, but San Francisco was able to finally secure it for 2011, and that brings us to now. It’s going to be madness. Will you be there?

This entry was posted in Art, Bikes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SSCXWC 2011 Anticipation!

  1. Pingback: Cyclocross 2011: On Start Positions | Slonie

Leave a Reply

